Marina and The Diamonds-The Family Jewels (2010)

Artist: Marina And The Diamonds
Album: The Family Jewels
Label: 679 Recordings / Warner Music
Genre: Indie
Release Date: February 22, 2010

Track List

01. Are You Satisfied?
02. Shampain
03. I Am Not A Robot
04. Girls
05. Mowgli’s Road
06. Obsessions
07. Hollywood
08. The Outsider
09. Hermit The Frog
10. Oh No
11. Rootless
12. Numb
13. Guilty


Unique sound and interesting lyrics make Marina Lambrini Diamandis’ (better known by her stage name “Marina and The Diamonds”) album called “The Family Jewels” a must-heard.

Marina, a Welsh singer-songwriter rose to fame when she came second to “BBC Sound of 2010” poll list. Her stage name came from her first name and “Diamendis”, which literally means “Diamonds” in Greek.  According to her, the “Diamonds” refer to her fans.

Her full length album, “The Family Jewels” came out on February 22, 2010.  The album opens up with “Are You Satisfied”, which imposes a question about being ‘satisfied with an average life’.  The second song “Shampain” has a nice beat that has a Katy Perry semblance.  Well, personally, I think she and Katy have a lot of similarities in terms of sound.  People who love Katy or Lily Allen will love her.  The third track called “I Am Not A Robot” is a personal favorite.  The video of the song is equally beautiful and unique with all those glitters in her body — haha!  “Hollywood” and “Oh No” are also distinct tracks.  These are the tracks that the listener will definitely recall even at first listen.  On the other hand, there are other songs that are forgettable like “Rootless” and “Guilty” (which I usually skip when playing the album on my player).

Overall, the album manages to catch one’s attention and dwells to finishing the album at the first few listens.  After that, you would have to choose those tracks that marked on you.  But if you’re stuck in a vehicle, travelling, this album is a perfect travel companion. Soothing and striking. The album will definitely arouse your mind to imagining things as you listen to the lyrics.

Listening close, Benjo.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Notes

Note: Support the artist.  I did. 😛

Links to the album:

About this entry